

CVTA Nominating Committee – Report Item B. – CVTA Agenda – July 15, 2022

CVTA Nominating Committee Members:

John Hodges, Town of Ashland, Chair Dr. Cynthia Newbille, City of Richmond Michael Byerly, Powhatan County

Committee Meeting Summaries:

The Committee met on May 5th and May 11th with staff support. Under the bylaws, the Committee is charged with annually recommending the Chair and Vice Chair of the Authority as well as the two members of the Finance Committee that are not automatically reappointed (Chesterfield, Henrico and the City are automatically reappointed). The Committee discussed the potential for a regularly scheduled rotation system among localities for open positions like that used by Plan RVA and RRTPO in order to promote member involvement.

At the Committee's request, the staff provided examples of the nominating committee processes used by Northern Virginia Transportation and Hampton Roads Authorities. In both Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads, the nominating committee recommends the chair and vice chair, and the new chair appoints committee chairs. There was no formal rotation system in place for involving members. In both authorities the chair and vice Chair are appointed to one-year terms, but the Hampton Roads authority has a limited officers to serving no more than two consecutive terms (2 years).

Following discussion, the Committee voted to recommend the following members to hold office in FY 23, subject to their acceptance by the candidates:

- Kevin Carroll (current Vice Chair) for Chair
- Levar Stoney (current Chair of the Finance Committee) for Vice Chair
- Carlos Brown and Canova Peterson (current Finance Committee members)
 with Patricia Page as a replacement should either Mr. Brown or Mr. Peterson
 chose not to serve next year.

The Committee also voted to recommend that the new Chair consider establishing a committee to consider a rotation system for involving all CVTA members who are not automatically reappointed to encourage participation in the Authority's offices.

Committee Recommendation:

Mr. Hodges, Committee Chair, contacted each of the recommended candidates and all agreed to serve, except for Mr. Brown. Mr. Brown indicated he was nearing the end of his term on the CTB and did not want to stand in the way of another CTVA member serving on the Finance Committee.



Therefore, the CVTA Nominating Committee's recommendation to the CTVA for officers in FY 23 are as follows:

- Mr. Kevin Carroll, Chesterfield County, for Chair
- Mayor Levar Stoney, City of Richmond, for Vice Chair
- Mr. Canova Peterson, Hanover County, for Finance Committee Member
- Ms. Patricia Page, New Kent County, for Finance Committee Member

The Nominating Committee also recommended that the new FY 23 Chair consider establishing a committee to consider a rotation system for involving all CVTA members who are not automatically reappointed.