

CENTRAL VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TAC)

ZOOM MEETING MINUTES August 12, 2024, 1:00 p.m.

Members and Alternates Present:

Voting Members								
Town of Ashland		Charles City County		Chesterfield County				
Nora Amos	Х	Sheri Adams	Х	Barbara K. Smith	Х			
Goochland County		Gary Mitchell (A)		J.J. Banuelos (A)				
Austin Goyne	Х	Hanover County		Henrico County				
Thomas M. Coleman (A)		Joseph E. Vidunas	Х	Todd Eure	Х			
New Kent County		Randy Hardman (A)		Sharon Smidler (A)	Х			
Amy Inman	Х	Powhatan County		City of Richmond				
Kelli Le Duc (A)		Bret Schardein (A)		Dironna Moore Clarke	Х			
		Non-Voting Memb	ers					
GRTC Transit System		СVТА		PlanRVA/RRTPO				
Frank Adarkwa	Х	Chet Parsons	Х	Myles Busching	Х			
Patricia Robinson (A)	Х	VDOT		RMTA				
VDRPT		Dale Totten		Joi Taylor Dean				
Tiffany T. Dubinsky	Х	Mark Riblett (A)	Х	Virginia Port Authority				
Wood Hudson (A)		Liz McAdory (A)		Barbara Nelson	Х			

The technology used for the CVTA TAC meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>.

Virtual participation of this meeting by members of the committee is authorized under the City of Richmond Res. No. 2020-R025, - declaration of a local emergency due to the potential spread of COVID-19, adopted March 16, 2020. The resolution is available <u>here</u>.

1. Welcome and Introductions

The Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Chair, Dironna Moore Clarke, presided and called the CVTA Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) regular meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call & Certification of a Quorum

Janice Scott, PlanRVA, took attendance by roll call and certified that a quorum was present.

3. Consideration of Amendments to the Agenda

There were no requested changes to the agenda.

4. Approval of July 8, 2024, CVTA TAC Meeting Minutes

On motion by Austin Goyne, seconded by Barb Smith, the members of the CVTA Technical Advisory Committee voted unanimously to approve the meeting minutes as presented (voice vote).

5. Public Comment Period

There were no requests to address the committee.

6. CVTA TAC Chair's Report

Chair Clarke did not have a formal report.

7. Election of FY25 CVTA TAC Chair and Vice Chair

Chair Clarke opened the nominations. Austin Goyne nominated Barbara Smith as FY25 Chair. Hearing no other nominations, Chair Clarke closed the nominations.

On motion by Austin Goyne, seconded by Todd Eure, the members of the CVTA Technical Advisory Committee voted to elect Barbara Smith as FY25 Chair (roll call vote; see below)

Town of Ashland		Charles City County		Chesterfield County	
Nora Amos	Aye	Sheri Adams	Aye	Barbara Smith	Abstain
Goochland County		Hanover County		Henrico County	
Austin Goyne	Aye	Joseph E. Vidunas	Aye	Todd Eure	Aye
New Kent County		Powhatan		City of Richmond	
Amy Inman	Aye	Absent		Dironna Moore Clarke	Aye

Chair Smith opened the nominations. Dironna Moore Clarke nominated Austin Goyne as FY25 Vice Chair. Hearing no other nominations, Chair Smith closed the nominations.

On motion by Dironna Moore Clarke, seconded by Amy Inman, the members of the CVTA Technical Advisory Committee voted to elect Austin Goyne as FY25 Vice Chair (roll call vote; see below)

Town of Ashland		Charles City County		Chesterfield County	
Nora Amos	Aye	Sheri Adams	Aye	Barbara Smith	Aye
Goochland County		Hanover County		Henrico County	
Austin Goyne	Abstain	Joseph E. Vidunas	Aye	Todd Eure	Aye
New Kent County		Powhatan		City of Richmond	
Amy Inman	Aye	Absent		Dironna Moore Clarke	Aye

8. Henrico County Draft SPAs

a. CVTA-0052 – Route 60, Route 33 and Beulah Road Roundabout

b. CVTA-0058 – Route 5 and New Osbourne Turnpike Improvements

Chair Smith introduced these items and asked if there was any discussion.

On motion by Todd Eure, seconded by Joe Vidunas, the members of the CVTA TAC voted to recommend full Authority approval of the draft SPAs as presented (voice vote).

9. City of Richmond Draft SPAs

a. CVTA-0031 – Hull St Phase II (US 360)

b. CVTA-0062 – North South BRT

Chair Smith introduced these items and asked if there was any discussion.

On motion by Dironna Moore Clarke, seconded by Austin Goyne, the members of the CVTA TAC voted to recommend full Authority approval of the draft SPAs as presented (voice vote).

10. VDOT Draft SPA – CVTA 0001 - Fall Line Trail DB#2

Chair Smith introduced this item and asked if there was any discussion.

On motion by Dironna Moore Clarke, seconded by Amy Inman, the members of the CVTA TAC voted to recommend full Authority approval of the draft SPA as presented (voice vote).

11. FY25 Local Allocation Plan

Chet Parsons provided an explanation of this item and explained that this is the current list from every locality. The goal is to get a recommendation from TAC for approval by the full Authority at its next meeting. He reported that every locality that intends to use CVTA local funds has submitted their plan.

On motion by Joe Vidunas, seconded by Sheri Adams, the members of the CVTA TAC voted to recommend full Authority approval of the FY25 Local Allocation Plan (voice vote).

12. FY24 Annual Certifications and Quarterly Reporting

Mr. Parsons reported that this is just an information item at this time as not all localities have submitted their reports.

13. Fall Line Trail Management

Mr. Parsons explained the document that was distributed prior to the meeting (posted here). He noted it is a information/discussion item at this time. There was a discussion about how the Capital Trail is managed. It was noted that the CVTA has a vested interest to ensure the trail is maintained, however CVTA does not likely have the authority to decide the management of the trail.

After further discussion, Chair Smith noted it could be discussed further with the Fall Line Working Group. The matter will be on the next working group agenda as a discussion item.

14. CVTA TAC Member Comments

Committee members expressed their appreciation to Ms. Clarke for her service as Chair.

15. Next Meeting: September 9, 2024, at 1:00 p.m.

16. Adjournment

Chair Smith adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.